Inter NIT Cricket Tournament

Inter NIT Cricket Tournament

    Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur is organizing the first-ever All India Inter NIT Faculty & Staff Cricket Tournament 2019-20 from 27th December 2019 to 30th December 2019. Total 12 NITs from different part of the country are taking an active part in this tournament and they are MNIT Jaipur, NIT Durgapur, NIT Uttarakhand, NIT Andhra Pradesh, NIT Silchar, MANIT Bhopal, NIT Calicut, NIT Allahabad, NIT Rourkela, NIT Warangal, NIT Raipur, VNIT Nagpur.

    The objective of organizing the tournament is to provide a common platform to the teaching & non-teaching staff of all NITs to encourage physical activities in the form of competitive sports, provide a cohesive atmosphere for social interaction, develop enthusiasm in day to day life and team spirit among the staff of various NITs of India.

    Organization of All India Inter NIT Cricket tournament for faculty & staff for all the NITs of India is an effort to encourage the faculty & staff of NIT family to inculcate the habit of regular physical activities in their day to day life.

     The inaugural function, held on 27th of December 2019 witnessed the mayor of the NMC Shri Sandeepji Joshi as the chief guest and Shri Ashok Bhagwat- Ex Ranji Cricket player as the guest of honor. Shri Vishram Jamdar – The chairman, Board of Governors presided over the function. The other dignitaries who were present on the dais were Dr. P. M Padole- Director, VNIT Nagpur who is also the chairman of the this tournament, Dr. Dilip Peshwe, Dean- (Faculty Welfare), the convener of the tournament, Dr. B. S Umare, Dean-Students Welfare, Dr. Subir Debnath from MNIT Jaipur, the observer of the tournament and Dr. Robin Simon – Head Physical Education & Sports section and the organizing secretary of the tournament.

     The matches are being played on Dr. Ambedkar College, Dhanwate National College Vasant Nagar, Jyotiba College of Physical Education Hingana and VNIT Cricket ground.

     The final match will be played on VNIT Cricket ground between NIT Uttarkahnd and MNIT Jaipur, whereas VNIT Nagpur and NIT Allahabad will fight for the 3rd and 4th position.

    The valedictory ceremony will be held on 30th December at 4.30 PM. The Shri Ravindra Thakare, the collector of Nagpur District will be the chief guest of the valedictory ceremony and Shri Chinmay S. Pandit DCP- traffic Nagpur police will be the guest of honor.