As per MHRD order No. F. No. H. 11011/02/2016-CDN(Pt.) dated 24 October 2019, Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology Nagpur celebrated the Constitution Day on 26 November 2019.

The event was presided over by leading legal scholar Dr. Anil Bankar as Chief Guest and our esteemed Director Prof. P. M. Padole as the Guest of Honour. Our respected Registrar Prof. S.R. Sathe also graced the occasion.

The celebration started with a pledge by students, faculty, and staff members to uphold the values of India as a sovereign socialist secular democratic republic and to secure to all its citizens justice, social, economic and political; liberty of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship; equality of status and of opportunity; and to promote among them all fraternity assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the nation.

The pledge was followed by the screening of an informative documentary on the Constitution of India, after which a quiz competition was organized on the same topic. The students and staff members who actively participated and answered the questions were awarded with prizes.

To mark the occasion the dignitaries offered a tribute to Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, the architect of Indian Constitution. Prof. Padole elaborated upon the need to preserve a balance between our rights and duties as citizens of India. He focused on how the constitution extends dignity to every citizen beyond socio-cultural barriers and therefore should be upheld as the most important of all documents in a true democracy.

There after the chief guest addressed the gathering and spoke at length about the formation, execution, and relevance of the Constitution of India. He brought alive the sacrifices, challenges, and achievements of the makers of our Constitution. Dr. Bankar concluded his speech by emphasizing upon the need to move the Constitution from theory to practice in our day to day lives by embracing its ideals.

The celebration came to an end with a vote of thanks by the organizers Dr. G. N. Nimbarte, Dr. Bibhuti Ranjan Mishra, Dr. Bibhudatta Dash, and Dr. Jaipal followed by refreshments.